Thursday, November 23, 2006

More "7 wonders" of the world, but now even worse

I have forgotten how many times I've heard about different versions of "the 7 wonders of the world". Sorry to tell, but the only valid 7 wonders of the world are those referred to as the ones of the "Ancient World", which included the following buildings: The hanging gardens of Babylon, the temple of Artemis at Ephesus, the Statue of Zeus at Olympia, the Mausoleum at Hallicarnassus, the Colosus of Rhodes, the Lighthouse at Alexandria, and the Great Pyramid of Giza. It is just a pity that from all of those wonders, the only one that still exists until our days is the Pyramid of Giza (and yes, the Great Wall in China is not included in such list, contrary to popular beliefs).
I believe that, after feeling this frustration of not preserving any but one of all those magnificent works, humans have been looking for ways to "replace" by proposing other actual buildings to be considered as contemporary wonders. Some of these supposed wonders include, as far as I remember, the Eiffel Tower in Paris, the Taj Mahal in India, and the Opera House of Sydney.
But still not pleased with those proposals (for which, it is necessary to tell that there exists no official list), there is still a group of people that are proposing some places as wonders, "New 7 Wonders of the World". But this time, in its most ridiculous level... the candidates have been already announced, and people can vote! (what a taunt!)
Some of the proposed "wonders" are: Stonehenge (UK), The Acropolis (Greece), the Colosseum (Italy), Macchu Picchu (Peru), the Statue of Liberty (USA), and the Christ Redeemer Statue (Brazil).
Can anybody please tell me what kind of chronological link exist between them?
For a complete list of "wonders", or if you want to take part of this ridiculous voting, just copy and paste the following address in your address bar, or click on it.


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home